Experience Life ~Freely~

I took a trip to my backyard this past weekend. No, not the dirt lot behind my dorm building, but the city I live in which I sometimes forget is so rewarding. I have the privilege of studying in one of the most thriving places in the world–New York City.

On Saturday, I played tourist with my Rochester-native aunt and cousin who visited Manhattan for the weekend. Here are some of our highlights from Central Park: 75th Street, and the Chelsea Market.

Central Park: If you’ve never been, I’m sure you’ve heard of it. What you may not know, however, is that you don’t have to pay a thing to enjoy the 843 acres of pure beauty. The “park” stems from 59th Street to 110th Street. One of my favorite hangouts is on the Great Lawn, considered to be one of the most famous lawns in the world, where you can have a picnic, throw a frisbee, have a photoshoot, or watch a show…all for free! It’s located at Mid-Park: 79th to 85th Street.

Here are a few of our highlights:

image4

I candidly caught my aunt and cousin in the scope of my lens. What a great perspective!

A very touristy shot of the fountain at Central Park

A very touristy shot of the fountain at Central Park

IMG_7711

A bride? An actress? NY may never know

The Chelsea Market was a blast too. It’s important to know that there is no admission fee to browse through the hundreds of shops, markets and galleries. Not to mention, everything is so visually pleasing. It gets packed easily, especially at lunchtime on a Saturday, but the experience is worth the hustle and bustle. It’s also been named one of the greatest indoor food halls of the world. You could stay for hours getting lost in the beauty of the market.

image6

The Chelsea Market was prettiest when I looked up

I finished off the weekend with a much-needed (finals getaway) bike ride to the Brooklyn Promenade for lunch.

IMG_7745 copy

The Brooklyn Bridge Promenade: Blue skies and skyscrapers for days ❤

Not only does the Promenade provide one of the best views of the city, it has some of the most outstanding array of food options in the city. We sat down at The Paris Cafe and ate to our heart’s content.

IMG_7702

The fact that I even captured this picture before the food was devoured was a miracle.

When I think of the times I get to spend with friends and family, versus the money I could be spending just to benefit myself, I realize that these experiences are worth so much more than I can imagine.

One of the (many) selfies taken at the Promenade

One of the (many) selfies taken at the Promenade

If you’re looking for more free things to do to occupy your weekends in NYC, check out The Skint: Your go-to place for “Free and cheap New York. Everyday.”

And if you’re looking to completely escape the city, here are 50 free things to do in all of North America!

What are you waiting for? Your backyard awaits.

xoxo, Kai

Leave a Reply

