Don’t be the bird who cried ‘CHEAP’

I know I preach savings like there’s no tomorrow but I wanted to dedicate a post to some of the things in my life that I am perfectly happy spending good money for.

This is what I call the concept of value.

I believe that people can make conscious efforts to spend meagerly and still be aware of the notion of treating themselves. There are certainly things that exist in my life that I feel aren’t always worth the bargain. Although I’m a huge advocate of savings, you can’t clip a coupon for everything that peaks your interest.

I’ve learned firsthand how the concept of value can really change one’s perspective. And I believe that having some knowledge of what you’re willing to spend makes saving that much easier.

Here are a few of my most valuable items:

Piercings

IMG_5729

I paid $40 at a tattoo & piercing shop in Soho

I’m sure we’ve all heard–or experienced–horror stories when it comes to ineffective piercing episodes. As someone who’s hesitant when it comes to needles, I made sure to do thorough research on the best places (not prices) to get my daith pierced. I couldn’t have gone to Claire’s for this tricky one, though it probably would’ve been my least expensive option.

If I’m gonna purposely put myself in this painful position, better believe I’m gonna get it done right the first time, even especially if that means dishing out some extra dough.

Concerts

…or really any once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Don’t get me wrong though, $15 lawn seat concert tickets will always be my favorite summertime deal. But it’s rare to catch some of the greats more than once, and so for cheap, so when that’s the case, I’ll wait up all night to get tickets with friends that land us just arm’s length away from our favorite artists.

These type of “experiential expenditures” are worth every dime.

Hair Dye

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I paid $12 for Clairol Nice ‘n Easy Born Blonde

I’ve definitely gone through my fair share of dyed hair and I’m proud to say that, in the five years that I’ve been coloring my hair, I haven’t regretted an instance yet. As something that’s going to be one of the first things that people notice when they see me, it should look like I put a little care into it.

Thankfully, my hair holds dye really well and I don’t have to redo it as often as some, so when I do decide that it’s time for a new hue or just a touch-up, I make sure to go with the top box brands or splurge and make an appointment with a professional.

Pedicures

For something I get so rarely but lasts for so long, I’d be crazy not to get my money’s worth. For me, pedicures are for summertime and island vacays– now you see why they’re so rare. But when it’s time to revisit my girls at the salon, I go for the whole shebang: French, full set with spa. If nothing else, it’s worth the relaxation time and the mini-pampering treatment.

The fact that pedicures last so long for me makes the investment even more worth it. I know I won’t have to come back for at least another month and when the weather cools down, I don’t have to worry about it at all anymore! This is what you call the perfect arrangement.

Coffee

IMG_0014

I pay $4.75 for a grande Iced Salted Caramel Frap

Ahhh yes…the most delightful beverage before noon, before a long class, before a Netflix marathon. I’m kind of picky when it comes to my coffee, though. As you can see from my picture, Starbucks takes the cake for most money I’ve spent at a coffeeshop. I’m not sure if it’s because everywhere I’ve ever lived, I was in walking distance from a Starbucks or if my mom’s obsession with the company has rubbed off on me, but it’s certainly made the list for most valuable items.

I know a ton of people could weigh in on their likes and dislikes about their company but the fact of the matter is, when I need a pick-me-up, an iced salted caramel macchiato always does the trick.

Tattoos

IMG_7248

I payed the shop minimum, $60, at a shop in Charlotte

Lastly, but probably most importantly, I place a lot of value on tattoos. This was my first one and you can only imagine how much time I put into the research and detail of getting these words permanently etched into my foot forever.

I went through many referrals and recommendations to ultimately find the artist who would make my dream tattoo a reality. I refrained from focusing on price, though I did refuse shops whose minimum was $100 or more.

Tattoos and piercings (to bring this full circle) hold very similar value to me. If I’m willing to live with something for the rest of my life, money is no longer a factor in the decision-making process. In these cases, I care far more about quality than any price tag.

So, what things do you place the most value on in life?

xoxo, Kai

Leave a Reply

