Ways to Not Make Snow Days Blow 

So if you’re from the city, you know how bi-polar this weather can be. I swear, yesterday was 45 and sunny, now…this.
IMG_7069

It’s beginning to look a lot like spring.

I feel like I’ve seen snow everyday of my life for the past five months.
It’s March and New York City and my hometown, Charlotte, are currently experiencing a 40-degree temperature difference. Every time I think New York is over its cold spells, mother nature sends us another storm warning. I admit, I wasn’t always prepared for these impromptu snow days but I have found copious amounts of ways to dress as if I were. 
I’ve got a few tips and a ton of links for you to get through your next six-month winter in NYC.
1) Shop online! Stores typically clear their floors of out of season and out of date items as soon as new shipment comes in. No one wants to browse a store full of things they can’t wear until next year. That’s why online shopping exists–that, and for the lazy person living in all of us. If you go to that same store’s website, you’ll find a nicely organized sale section where you’ll find boots in April and bikinis in October. 
H&M gets my vote for one of the best sale sections for shopping out of season. Items get marked down over 50% everyday and it’s just heavenly!
Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.42.13 AM

This is not a joke.

Nordstrom is also gets super sale-happy at the end of the season. P.S., if you haven’t heard of The Rack, you’ve already missed out on a big chunk of existence. Do you want a $98 Pleione Houndstooth Jacket for $15? Sure you do!
2) Thrift your winter apparel! Walking into a thrift store in June means you could potentially leave with a pair of snow boots, a pair of high-waisted shorts, a leather jacket and a crop top. There are no rules and there is certainly no wrong way to shop at a thrift store. You buy what you want for super cheap and leave with a smile on your face. 
Some of my favorite thrift stores in the city are Green Street Consignment in SoHo, Buffalo Exchange in Brooklyn in Williamsburg and, of course, Goodwill. I bought the cutest lavender jumper-dress from Green Street last December for $8. 

3) Shop out of season! No doubt, when you’re in the midst of an upcoming blizzard in the middle of winter in NYC, you might want to go out and buy a puffer coat with extra down, but ideally, that same down coat will be sold in March, for half the price, as stores start getting ready for spring.

I buy winter scarves, faithfully, year round and when the temperature starts to drop, I’m always prepared. Three years in a row, my mom bought my Christmas Uggs in the summer for a fraction of the cost they are when people actually start gift shopping.
image1 (1)

My babies are still holding strong.

Adding these effortless tricks to your lifestyle will change your life for the better. By the end of the year, you’ll wonder how you were able to buy so many Christmas gifts and still have enough money to buy your summer wardrobe 😉 
 xoxo, Kai
Leave a Reply

