Less Bread, More Dough

It’s only right to begin this series with one of my favorite things on this earth…food!

The lunch that I eat too many times to admit.

Resist your urge to eat lick the screen.

If you know me, you know that pizza is my first true love, and you’d think that living in Brooklyn for two years would make me tired of the cheesy, heavenly goodness. Well, fortunately, the invention of 99 cent pizza joints is making this more and more unlikely.

I go into Midtown-Manhattan about five times a week for my internship and I’d have to say, the hardest part of my day is always deciding what to eat for lunch. Between 12 and 2 PM, there’s practically a million hungry New Yorkers scurrying the streets to find something that will tide them over for another five hours. I watch lines form outside of Starbucks’ and wrap around food carts like macchiatos and chili dogs are going out of style.

On my first day, I was overwhelmed with options, to say the least– that is, until I came across a sign that had to have come from the heavens.

99 Cent Pizza

I made a bee-line to the front door where I was greeted with even more proof that there is in fact a God:

1 slice=99¢, 2 slices and a soda=$2.75, 18″ pie=$8 and FREE DELIVERY!

This will buy you two slices and a soda or water from the 99 Cent Pizza on 40th.

This will buy you two slices, a soda & my happiness from the 99 Cent Pizza on 40th.

It was obvious when I stepped inside that I was not the only one who had half an hour for lunch, $2 in my pocket and a stomach that wouldn’t shut up. I stood in a line that seemed to have gone way faster than a McDonald’s drive-thru– the transaction process was so smooth.

-How many slices?

-Two, please.

*Pizza guy swiftly slides two slices onto a plate*

*Hungry guy casually puts two dollar bills on the counter*

-Thanks, man.

-Anytime… Next!

Now, I completely understand the concept of treating yourself, but if I’ve learned anything, it’s that noon, on a Monday in Midtown might not be the best time to do so. I’ve had to find my way around the system. I don’t try not to eat pizza every lunch break, but it’s good to have as an option when I know I’ll be swiping my debit card rather vigorously in the coming-weekend or when I indulge and take a taxi because it was just “too cold.”

It’s totally possible to have pizza without all of the extra dough.


If you’re not a fan of pizza, or simply just watching the carbs (which is certainly more believable), there are still plenty of lunch options for you!

If a juicy burger is more your style, you’ll want to check out Blue Collar in Williamsburg, where you can bite into the best burger of your life for no more than $9. Literally.

Feeling a little Mexican-y? Taquitoria in the Lower East Side will make you feel differently about taquitos once you’ve had three for only $6.

And you just can’t beat six dumplings for $8 at Mimi Cheng’s Dumplings, especially when they’re made daily by hand!

What are some of your go-to lunch spots?

xoxo, Kai

Leave a Reply

